top of page
  • AGBS

Documentary: Colored Frames


Directed by Lerone D. Wilson, the 2013 documentary Colored Frames interviews prominent African American artists and journals their experiences as budding creatives in the 1960s. Featured artists such as Howardena Pindell and Benny Andrews recall the challenges they faced in a predominantly white art world that consistently excluded them and stereotyped their artistic practices as Black artists. Additionally, Colored Frames also highlights the inspirations and influences these artists gained from their experiences and how they worked to make spaces for themselves and their communities in the art world.


“This is my story, you know, this is where I come from" And she said, "Well I just don't think it sells" "And I realized then I had to go out and fight". - Benny Andrews
12 views
THE NARRATIVE.png
bottom of page